An Apple bug-- which has since gone viral-- revealed that FaceTime users can call a member of their contacts using the tool and hear what the other person is saying before they even accept the call.

So, yeah. You can spy on your friends. Yikes.

CNN reported that "Apple confirmed it started disabling the Group FaceTime feature for all users, but the issue may still impact one-on-one FaceTime calls." Basically, you're going to want to disable this ASAP.

Here's how to do it, thanks to The New York Times:

  1. Make sure your phone is even at risk-- your device must have the most recent software updates (iOS 12.1, released in October).
  2. Open 'Settings', scroll down until you see 'FaceTime', and click on it. Tap the green button beside the word 'FaceTime' at the very top of the screen, and after it turns gray, you've done what you need to do.
  3. The NY Times also says you don't need to delete the app, but just to be safe..."nothing’s stopping you."

Stay safe, Northern Colorado-- and don't let your friends spy on you.